← All guides

Systeme.io or Podia: which lets a UK creator sell a course and downloads for less?

Affiliate note: Occono may earn a commission if you use the Systeme.io, beehiiv or Make links on this page, at no extra cost to you. The Podia links are not affiliate links. Occono does not earn from Podia. Affiliate disclosure. Website terms.

Quick summary

Use the free plan until someone pays. Pay for Podia when the site itself is what you are selling.

Best when you are still finding out if a course or a download will sell: Systeme.io. The free plan is $0, needs no card, and has no end date. It includes one course with up to 500 students, up to 2,000 contacts, and up to $10,000 in total sales. The pricing data says 0% transaction fees, and that you can take Stripe or PayPal at no extra platform cost. Startup is $17 a month. We earn from Systeme.io. The solo-plan write-up is Is Systeme.io worth it for solopreneurs?

Best when you want courses, downloads and a community on one site, and you will pay from the first month: Podia. There is no free plan on the pricing page. There is a 14-day trial, and the page says you do not enter a card or pick a plan until you are ready. Mover is $49 a month, or $42 a month billed annually ($504 a year), with a 5% fee on each sale. Shaker removes that fee, at $99 a month or $84 a month billed annually ($1,008 a year). We do not earn from Podia.

Podia is the dearer subscription at every published step a solo creator is likely to start on. It is the better buy when a tidy site, a download product and a community matter more than a zero monthly bill. If the thing you actually send is a newsletter, neither tool is the one to start with.

Where this article names a winner
WhenNamed in the article
You are testing a first course or a few downloads and do not want a monthly bill yetSysteme.io
You need a sales page, email and one course in the same cheap loginSysteme.io
You want several downloads, courses and a community site, and you will pay for that from month onePodia
You want PayPal on one-time sales and no Podia fee on the salePodia Shaker or Earthquaker, not Mover
Buyers need a school with quizzes, and the course is already sellingLook at Thinkific as well. That comparison is linked below
The product is the newsletterbeehiiv, not either of these two

Both tools will take a card payment for a digital product. The bill before the first sale is different. Systeme.io publishes a free plan in US dollars. Podia’s pricing page, read the same day, also shows US dollars, and its trial is 14 days rather than a plan that stays free. A UK card issuer may add a conversion charge on a dollar bill. This article does not turn those prices into pounds. Neither pricing page said whether VAT is added to the subscription. Checked 25 October 2026.

What public reviews say

These are third-party scores, read on 25 October 2026. They are other people’s reviews. Occono has not collected them, and they will move. Both Trustpilot profiles say the company has not invited customers recently, so the reviews may not be representative. G2 is not in the table. The Podia and Systeme.io review pages on G2 timed out and did not return a rating.

SourceSysteme.ioPodia
Capterra, page last updated 29 September 2026 4.8 out of 5, 2,131 reviews. The filter on that page lists 1,811 at 5 stars, 286 at 4, 19 at 3, 8 at 2 and 7 at 1. Value for money is 4.9 from 2,027 reviews. Customer service is 4.8 from 2,075 reviews. 4.6 out of 5, 126 reviews. The filter lists 97 at 5 stars, 18 at 4, 5 at 3, 1 at 2 and 5 at 1. The sentiment block lists positive 91% and neutral 4%, then a third figure of 5%. Value for money is 4.6 from 118 reviews. Customer service is 4.6 from 115 reviews. Capterra lists a starting price of $49 a month. That matches the monthly Mover price on Podia’s pricing page. The annual card on that page is $42 a month.
Trustpilot, read 25 October 2026 4.9 out of 5, labelled Excellent, 8,696 reviews. The score badge rounds that to 9K. On the page, 94% are five-star, 4% four-star, under 1% three-star, under 1% two-star and 2% one-star. 1,879 reviews are from the last 12 months. The profile says Systeme.io replied to 89% of negative reviews, typically within 2 weeks. The company has not invited customers recently. 4.1 out of 5, labelled Great, 153 reviews. On the page, 63% are five-star, 6% four-star, 1% three-star, 4% two-star and 26% one-star. 61 reviews are from the last 12 months. The profile says Podia replied to 41% of negative reviews, typically within 48 hours. The company has not invited customers recently.

Podia’s 4.1 and its 63% five-star share are both on the same Trustpilot page. They are not the same kind of number. The star split is the whole set of 153 reviews, and 26% of that set is one star. Capterra’s 4.6, from 126 software reviews last updated on 29 September 2026, is the kinder Podia score, and only five of those reviews are one star. Systeme.io’s Capterra score is 4.8 from 2,131 reviews, and its Trustpilot score is 4.9 from 8,696. The Trustpilot sample is much larger, and 94% of it is five stars. Recent reviews on both profiles, quoted below, are about support speed, a learning curve, and, on Podia, a creator who is leaving because the community product changed.

“Overall, my experience with Systeme.io has been pretty smooth. I liked having emails, landing pages, and automation together, although the interface took some time to get used to.”

Harshit V., digital marketing executive, Capterra, 26 September 2026. Link to the Systeme.io page the review was read on. The same review gives ease of use 5.0 and likelihood to recommend 8 out of 10. Checked 25 October 2026.

“Overall, my experience with Systeme.io has been very positive. It’s a reliable all-in-one platform that combines email marketing, sales funnels, automation, and digital product delivery in a way that’s easy to use and cost-effective. It’s especially well-suited for solo entrepreneurs, creators, and small businesses looking to simplify their marketing stack without paying for multiple tools.”

Anonymous user, listed as a consultant, Capterra, 29 January 2026, on the same Systeme.io page.

“I’m currently on the free tier. I emailed a question about domain authentication and had a response within 10 minutes with detailed instructions how to fix the problem.”

David Laird, in Great Britain, Trustpilot, 21 October 2026. Link to the Systeme.io profile. The 10 minutes is the time stated in the review. It is not a time this page has measured.

“I am literally just trying to change the email associated with my account. Not only can I not do this through my profile in the settings, but they’re demanding I give the last 4 digits of the card I used to sign up for systeme (which I don’t even have anymore), the card’s expiration date, account name, card owner’s name, etc. JUST TO CHANGE MY EMAIL!!”

Destiny Salter, Trustpilot, 22 October 2026, on the same Systeme.io profile. The review says they have been a customer for about four years.

“I’ve used Podia for 5 years and am so glad I chose this platform for my business. I’m a coach and host an online membership community. The platform has been easy to use for me as a creator and I’ve received feedback from my community members they love the interface as well.”

Leslie E., founder, Capterra, 27 August 2026. Link to the Podia page the review was read on. The same review gives ease of use 5.0, and says “The value for the pricing was what made my final decision.”

“With Podia, I was able to set up my website in a weekend! When you add products, they automatically create a sales page!”

Brenda F, in the US, Trustpilot, 27 July 2026. Link to the Podia profile. The same review says she had switched from a more complicated platform.

“After several years with Podia, I’ve decided to leave. The recent changes have fundamentally altered the relationship between creators, customers and the platform. Shared accounts, shared passwords, mixed notifications and one-click access between different creators’ communities — including competitors — are simply not what I signed up for.”

Severine, Trustpilot, 8 October 2026, on the same Podia profile. The review says the changes were imposed with no warning.

“The backend is clunky and basic. I have tried to get help on multiple occassions when i have started to send emails for a launch where they restricted my reach. I understand trying to teach how to not spam, but i was trying to send different emails to different groups of people. The chatbot was unhelpful and i had to wait 6 hours and still no response from a human.”

Nadia Clarke, Trustpilot, 14 July 2026, on the same Podia profile. Podia replied the same day that the team is primarily staffed during US East Coast business hours, so a wait can be longer outside that window. Spelling in the quote is the review’s.

What you actually get

Checked 25 October 2026 on Systeme.io’s pricing page and on Podia’s pricing page, plus the help articles linked under the table. Where a vendor’s own pages disagree, the cell says so. Subscription prices are in US dollars, as those pages show them.

Systeme.ioPodia
Free plan Yes. $0, no card, and the pricing data says it has no end date. The same answer says an account with no login or activity for 6 months is deactivated. Limits in that data: 2,000 contacts, 3 sales funnels, 1 blog, 1 course with up to 500 students, 1 affiliate program, 1 custom domain, 1 automation rule and 1 email campaign. Unlimited email sends. Up to $10,000 in total sales, then 3 days to upgrade if you want to keep taking payments. No free plan is listed on the pricing page. The page’s own description says “Try every feature free for 14 days, no card needed.” A help article on email sending limits says accounts start with a free email plan of up to 100 active subscribers. The pricing FAQ says you need a Mover, Shaker or Earthquaker plan to use Podia Email after the trial. This article does not treat that email note as a permanent free product plan.
Trial No separate trial of a paid plan is described. The free plan is the way to use the product before you pay. The FAQ data says payments on a paid plan are non-refundable. 14 days, on the pricing page. The header says you do not enter a credit card or pick a plan until you are ready. The FAQ says the trial is there so you can try before you pay. Podia’s Trustpilot profile, written by the company, says 30 days. The pricing page does not. This article uses 14 days.
Entry paid price Startup, $17 a month: 5,000 contacts, 10 sales funnels, 10 automation rules and 5 courses. The page’s plan description also says 3 custom domains. The page has an annual switch, badged “2 months free”. It does not state an annual dollar total in the plan data this article could read, so no annual price is given here. Mover, $49 a month billed monthly, or $42 a month billed annually. The page states $504 billed annually. The card lists up to 100 email subscribers, a 5% fee, unlimited customers, 50 products, 500 videos and 25 spaces. Twelve times $42 is $504. Twelve times $49 is $588. $588 minus $504 is $84.
Next published plans Webinar, $47 a month: 10,000 contacts, 50 sales funnels, 100 automation rules and 20 courses, plus evergreen webinars. The plan description also says 10 custom domains. Unlimited, $97 a month: unlimited contacts, funnels, automation rules, courses and custom domains. A Custom plan is listed as “Let’s talk”, with no dollar price. Shaker, $99 a month, or $84 a month billed annually. The page states $1,008 billed annually. No Podia fee. Up to 500 email subscribers, unlimited customers, 150 products, 1,000 videos, 100 spaces, 1 assistant, affiliate marketing, upsells, PayPal and Zapier. Earthquaker, $179 a month, or $150 a month billed annually. The page states $1,800 billed annually. No Podia fee. Up to 1,000 email subscribers, unlimited products, videos, spaces and assistants. Twelve times $84 is $1,008. Twelve times $150 is $1,800.
Courses One course and up to 500 students on Free, five courses on Startup, 20 on Webinar, unlimited courses on Unlimited. A line on the pricing page says “Unlimited students”, and another says other platforms limit the number of students. The free-plan data still caps that one course at 500 students. A creator-store help article, updated 20 October 2026, says a course in that store can be Light or Classic, and that the course options include certificate settings, including issuing a certificate on completion. The pricing page does not list quizzes. Online courses are in the list of what everyone gets, on every published plan. The limit is products, not a separate course count: 50 on Mover, 150 on Shaker, unlimited on Earthquaker. The plan-limits article says you cannot go over a product cap, and that there is no limit on how many customers can sign up for products. Quizzes are not named on the pricing page, so this article does not claim them.
Digital downloads The pricing page does not use the words “digital download”. A help article on selling an eBook, updated 13 April 2026, gives three ways: an email attachment, a link to a file you host elsewhere, or a download on the thank-you page. The attachment method is capped at 5 MB. A creator-store article, updated 20 October 2026, lists “Sell a digital download” as a product: you upload the file, and a confirmation email is sent after payment. That article does not state a file-size cap for the upload. Digital downloads are named on the pricing page, in the list of what everyone gets. The migration FAQ says a move can include digital downloads, files and text, as products. Mover’s migration cap is 50 products. Shaker and Earthquaker are 150. The same FAQ says customer email addresses for courses or downloads can be moved, and free community and membership subscribers.
Email Unlimited email sends on every plan, including Free. One email campaign and one automation rule on Free. Contacts: 2,000 on Free, 5,000 on Startup, 10,000 on Webinar, unlimited on Unlimited. Included email subscribers: 100 on Mover, 500 on Shaker, 1,000 on Earthquaker. The pricing FAQ says you need one of those plans to use Podia Email after the trial, that you can add more subscribers, and that Podia does not auto-upgrade you. The dollar prices for extra subscribers were not on the pricing cards. Podia’s own article on email platforms lists add-ons: up to 500 subscribers at $10 a month or $8 a month annually; 1,000 at $18 or $14; 2,500 at $28 or $22; 5,000 at $45 or $36; 10,000 at $70 or $56. The same article says sends are unlimited inside the subscriber cap. A help article says sending stops if you go over the cap.
Funnels and sales pages Sales funnels: 3 on Free, 10 on Startup, 50 on Webinar, unlimited on Unlimited. The pricing page lists order bumps, 1-click upsells, deadline funnels and A/B tests as rows. The cells for those rows did not load, so this article does not say which plan includes each one. The software’s feature list on the same page includes sales funnels, a website builder, a blog, order bumps and 1-click upsells. Landing pages, a website and a blog, and a custom domain, are in the list of what everyone gets. Upsells and affiliate marketing are on the Shaker and Earthquaker cards, not on the Mover card. Brenda F’s July 2026 review says adding a product creates a sales page. That is one reviewer’s experience, not a line on the pricing page.
Community The pricing page has rows for communities and community members. Those cells did not load, so no community limit is stated here. A help article shows community access sold as a digital-product resource on an order form. It says a cancelled subscription removes access, and a refunded one-time purchase removes it immediately. Community is in the list of what everyone gets. Spaces: 25 on Mover, 100 on Shaker, unlimited on Earthquaker. The plan-limits article says there is no cap on community members. Subscriber caps are for email, not for members. PayPal cannot be used for community subscriptions. Stripe can.
Payments The pricing page says you can accept Stripe or PayPal at no extra platform cost. It also lists Apple Pay, Razorpay, Flutterwave, Mercado Pago, Xendit and cash on delivery as rows. The cells did not load, so this article does not say those extra methods are on every plan. Stripe and PayPal are the two named in the “no extra cost” line. Stripe on the plans, for cards, payment plans, and recurring community subscriptions, plus Apple Pay, Google Pay, iDEAL and Stripe Link, on the payments help article. PayPal is on Shaker and Earthquaker for a live plan, and can be connected during the trial. PayPal is one-time payments only. It does not support payment plans or community subscriptions. A PayPal Business account is required. The payments article says Podia does not process SEPA debit, Bancontact, Afterpay, Klarna, Razorpay or Payoneer. Zapier, for an external checkout, is on Shaker and Earthquaker.
What you pay on a sale The pricing data says 0% transaction fees. The processor’s own fee still applies. Systeme.io’s pricing page does not publish a UK card rate, so this article does not invent one. Mover: 5% on each sale, including the annual Mover plan. Shaker and Earthquaker: no Podia fee. The pricing FAQ says Stripe or PayPal then charge “a standard transaction fee of 2.9% + 30¢, which may vary based on your location.” That is Podia’s sentence. It is not a UK rate, and the 30¢ is a US cent. This article does not turn it into pence.
UK VAT on the digital sale A help article, updated 11 May 2026, says that for a UK-based seller, digital sales to UK customers are charged a standard 20% VAT, for consumers and for UK businesses. It says the reverse charge does not apply to UK-to-UK business sales. For a seller outside the UK, it says 20% on digital sales to UK consumers, and no VAT on a UK business sale when the buyer has a valid UK VAT number. The same article says physical products are not calculated automatically. It does not mention the UK VAT registration threshold. This page is not tax advice. Podia’s pricing page lists “Sales tax (230 countries)” and “20+ currencies”. The tax help says Podia collects tax only in jurisdictions you add, and that a tax ID is required for each one. The United Kingdom is on the Europe list in the jurisdictions article, updated 10 July 2026. Tax codes include e-Service for digital goods other than e-books, and e-Book for electronic books. Podia does not state a UK percentage on the pages read for this article. The tax article says Podia does not file or remit the tax. You do. Prices can be tax-exclusive or tax-inclusive for the whole site.
Support, as listed The pricing page says email support is there, and claims an average response time under 2 hours, 7 days a week. That figure is Systeme.io’s claim, not a time this page has measured. David Laird’s review says 10 minutes. Destiny Salter’s review is a customer who could not change an email address. The pricing page lists email and chat support on every plan. Nadia Clarke’s review says a human had not replied after 6 hours. Podia’s reply says the team is staffed mainly on US East Coast hours. A UK evening sits outside that window. The Trustpilot profile says Podia typically replies to negative reviews within 48 hours, and that it replied to 41% of them.

Systeme.io prices and limits: systeme.io/pricing. The page schema says it was modified on 20 October 2026. The visible FAQ block says “Last updated: April 2026”. This article read the page on 25 October 2026. Free, Startup, Webinar and Unlimited are $0, $17, $47 and $97 a month in the offer data. The $10,000 sales cap, the 500-student cap, the 6-month inactivity line and the non-refundable line are in that same page’s FAQ data.

Podia plan prices, the 14-day trial, the 5% Mover fee, and the product and space limits: podia.com/pricing. Plan limits, including no cap on customers or members: Understanding Podia plan limits, written 31 July 2026. Email add-on prices: Podia’s email-platforms article. Those add-on dollars were not on the pricing cards. The separate note about a free email plan of 100 subscribers is Email sending limitations, written 16 May 2026.

Payments: Accepting payments in Podia and Understanding Podia transaction fees. PayPal plan rules: Connecting PayPal. Tax: Collecting sales taxes on Podia, jurisdictions, and tax codes. Systeme.io UK VAT: How UK VAT is handled in systeme.io. Downloads: How to sell your eBook and creator store. Community access: How to sell community access, updated 11 March 2026.

The offer

Systeme.io. Free plan: $0, no card. One course, up to 500 students, up to 2,000 contacts, unlimited email sends, and a $10,000 total-sales cap. Startup is $17 a month. Webinar is $47 a month. Unlimited is $97 a month. Annual billing is on the page and badged “2 months free”. This article does not turn that badge into a dollar price, because the plan data it could read gives the monthly figures. There is no separate paid-plan trial. If you cancel a paid plan, the FAQ data says you keep it until the next billing date, then the account moves back to the free plan, and the payment is non-refundable. Contacts, funnels and courses are not deleted. If you are then over the free limits, the account is restricted until you upgrade or remove the extra items. On a paid plan, going over a limit warns you for 3 days and then upgrades you automatically. On the free plan, going over restricts the account: forms and payments stop, and students cannot open courses. Nothing is deleted, including student progress, on that answer.

Podia. No free plan on the pricing page. A 14-day trial, with no card until you pick a plan. Mover is $49 a month, or $42 a month on annual billing, which the page totals as $504 a year, plus 5% of each sale. Shaker is $99 a month, or $84 a month on annual billing ($1,008 a year), with no Podia fee. Earthquaker is $179 a month, or $150 a month on annual billing ($1,800 a year), with no Podia fee. You can change plan or switch monthly and annual at any time, on the FAQ. If you have already paid and change your mind, the FAQ says to write within 72 hours of the latest payment for a refund. It says there are no partial refunds on annual plans, and that refunds take 5 to 10 business days. Podia is a US company, on its Trustpilot profile (New York). Systeme.io’s Trustpilot profile lists an address in Dublin. Neither pricing page showed a pound price.

A worked example, Occono’s own arithmetic. It uses the dollar prices above. It ignores card conversion, VAT on the subscription, and the processor’s fee. Twelve times Systeme.io Startup at $17 is $204. That is the monthly price held for a year. It is not an annual-billing total. Twelve times Podia Mover at $49 is $588. The annual total on the page is $504, which is $84 less, and it still carries the 5% fee. Twelve times Shaker at $99 is $1,188. The annual total is $1,008. The gap between Mover annual and Shaker annual is $1,008 minus $504, which is $504. A 5% fee reaches $504 when sales reach $10,080. Below that, a year of Mover plus the 5% costs less than a year of Shaker, before you count PayPal, upsells and the higher product cap. Above that, Shaker annual costs less than Mover annual plus the fee. Systeme.io’s stated platform fee on Startup is 0%, so the $204 does not grow with sales. The processor still takes a cut. The $204 is not the only money that leaves the sale.

One course at $97, sold to 10 people, is $970. That sits inside the free plan’s $10,000 sales cap, and inside the 500-student cap. It does not cover a year of Podia Mover at $504, before the 5%. Five percent of $970 is $48.50, so a year of Mover annual plus that fee is $552.50, against $0 of Systeme.io platform fee on the free plan, or $204 if you are already on Startup. At $20 a download, 500 sales is $10,000, so the free plan’s sales cap and a 500-student course cap can arrive together. A creator store can list more than one download. The free plan’s course cap is still one course. The $10,000 cap is total sales, not sales of one product.

Which one fits you?

Harshit V.’s September 2026 review is a person who wanted email, pages and automation together, and who found the screens slow to learn. The anonymous January 2026 review is aimed at a one-person business. Leslie E.’s August 2026 review is a coach running a membership, who picked Podia on price and then stayed for the screens. Severine’s October 2026 review is a creator leaving Podia because the community stopped feeling like a private shop. Those four are closer to the decision on this page than a software-buyer average is.

A UK coach launching a first course. You do not yet know if ten people will pay. Systeme.io’s free plan is the one that lets you put up a page, a checkout and one course before a monthly bill. The caps are the point to read twice: 500 students on that course, 2,000 contacts, $10,000 in total sales, and an account that the FAQ says is deactivated after 6 months with no login. A local workshop will not hit 500 students quickly. A $97 course can hit the sales cap in about a hundred sales, on the arithmetic above. Startup at $17 a month is the next step. Podia’s 14 days are enough to build the course. They are a short window if the first sale takes a term. Mover at $42 a month on annual billing is $504 before anyone buys, and then 5% of what they pay. If the buyers need quizzes, assignments and a school site, the Thinkific comparison is the closer page. Thinkific is a third product, and this page does not restate its prices.

A yoga teacher selling downloads. A short PDF or a class recording is a download, not a campus. Podia names digital downloads on every plan, and Brenda F’s review is someone who had a sales page appear when she added a product. Systeme.io can sell the file too, but the path is a funnel or a creator store. The eBook help article caps an email attachment at 5 MB, and the other email method asks you to host the file on Drive, OneDrive or similar. The creator store has an upload called “Sell a digital download”, and that article does not state a size cap. If you will not build that, Podia Mover is the tool that lists the download as a product, and you pay $49 a month, or $504 a year, plus 5%, for the privilege. If you will build it, the free plan is the cheaper till. Forty sales at $25 is $1,000. That is inside the $10,000 cap. Five percent of $1,000 is $50, which does not close a $504 gap. Pick Podia here when the tidy shop is worth more to you than the year’s subscription, not because the arithmetic says it is cheaper.

A consultant with a membership. Leslie E.’s review is this reader: a coach, a community, and a site members can use. Podia publishes the shape of that product. Mover includes 25 spaces and, on the plan-limits article, unlimited members. Community subscriptions need Stripe. PayPal will not bill them. Shaker, at $1,008 a year, is the first plan with no Podia fee, PayPal for one-time sales, upsells and Zapier. Systeme.io can grant community access from an order form, and this article could not read a member cap, because the pricing cells did not load. Severine’s October 2026 review is the reason to read Podia’s current community before you move a paid group onto it. She describes shared accounts and one-click access between creators’ communities. If the membership is private client work, that review is the objection. If twenty people pay $30 a month, that is $7,200 a year. Five percent is $360. Mover annual plus that fee is $864, against Startup at $204 with a stated 0% platform fee. Podia is still the dearer bill. It is the better fit when the member site is why they stay, and $864 is already covered by the membership. The Kajabi comparison is the next page if the membership is already earning and you want a more expensive all-in-one than either entry plan.

A creator who mostly wants a newsletter. Neither checkout is the product. Podia Email on Mover includes 100 subscribers, and the pricing FAQ says the email tool needs a paid plan after the trial. Systeme.io’s free plan includes 2,000 contacts and unlimited sends, with one campaign and one automation rule. That is a lot of list for no monthly fee, and a thin sending setup. If the letter is the business, use a newsletter tool. beehiiv is the one this site uses. The beehiiv and Kit comparison has the two newsletter tools, and the Kit and Systeme.io comparison is the page for email against an all-in-one offer. This article does not restate their prices. They were not rechecked today. If a new sale should also land on a spreadsheet you already keep, Make can connect the form to the sheet. Podia’s own Zapier link is on Shaker and above. Make is a second product, and a second bill once you leave its free plan. We earn from beehiiv and from Make.

Where Podia is the better buy

Pick Podia when you would rather pay than assemble the shop. Courses, downloads, a community, a website, a blog, landing pages and a custom domain are on Mover, not held for a higher plan. Leslie E.’s review is a coach who describes the screens as easy. Lucas B.’s September 2026 review, also on Capterra, is a founder who hosts courses clients watch on their own, plus spaces for one-to-one and one-to-many work, and who gives ease of use 5.0. Brenda F’s review is a website stood up in a weekend, with a sales page created when a product is added. Capterra’s 4.6 from 126 reviews is the public score that matches that praise. You pay for it from the first month after the trial. There is no free plan on the pricing page. Mover at $42 a month on annual billing is $504 a year, and the 5% is still there. Shaker, at $84 a month on annual billing, is the first plan that drops the Podia fee and adds PayPal.

Podia is also the clearer tax tool if you are already VAT-registered and you want to switch collection on yourself. You add the United Kingdom, you enter a tax ID, and you can mark an offer as an e-book or as another digital service. Podia’s article says it calculates the tax and does not send it to HMRC for you. Systeme.io’s UK article states a 20% rate on digital sales to UK customers, and it does not mention the registration threshold on that page. A sole trader under the threshold should not treat either article as the whole of the VAT position. This page is not telling you to charge 20%, and it is not telling you that you may skip it. Read the threshold, then read the tool.

The reasons to refuse Podia are on the same profiles. Trustpilot’s 4.1 from 153 reviews sits next to a 26% one-star share. Severine is leaving over community changes she says arrived without warning. Nadia Clarke waited hours for a person, and the reply points at US East Coast hours. Mickey Z., a one-star Capterra review on 28 July 2025, writes that “Many things don’t work in the system” and that changes arrived “without any alerting to the customers”. The review is more than a year old. It is still on the page that produces the 4.6. Export the files and the member list before you depend on either shop.

Where Systeme.io is the cheaper buy

Systeme.io wins when the offer is still unproven, or when you would otherwise pay for a page builder, an email tool and a course host. The free plan is a real account: one course, 500 students, unlimited sends, no card, and a stated 0% platform fee. The $10,000 sales cap and the 6-month inactivity line sit in the same FAQ as the line that the free plan has no end date. Read both on the day you start. Startup at $17 a month is the first paid step, against Podia’s $49. You still pay Stripe or PayPal. This page does not pretend to know the UK rate those two will charge you. Capterra’s 4.8 from 2,131 reviews, and Trustpilot’s 4.9 from 8,696, are the public scores this article could read. Harshit V.’s review is the learning-curve warning. Destiny Salter’s October 2026 review is the account-access warning: a long-time customer who could not change the login email without card digits they no longer have. David Laird, writing from Britain on 21 October 2026, is the other support story, a free-plan user who had a domain answer in the time his review states as 10 minutes.

Do not pick Systeme.io because a download will be as obvious as it is on Podia. The pricing page counts courses. The download is a help-article path: a creator-store product, or an eBook sent from a funnel, with a 5 MB cap if you attach it. Do not pick it for a large membership site on the strength of this page. The community rows did not load. If the course is a school, with quizzes and a student record people are already paying for, read the Thinkific comparison before you stay. If the bill is the only question, Startup at $204 for a year of monthly billing is the smaller number next to Mover at $504 plus 5%.

Use one checkout. Two shops means two places a buyer can pay, and two lists to export when you leave.

Try Systeme.io free →

By subscribing you agree to receive Occono emails. You can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy notice.

Update details

  • — Published.