beehiiv or Kit: which newsletter lets a UK creator send further before a monthly bill?
Affiliate note: Occono may earn a commission if you use the beehiiv, Make or Systeme.io links on this page, at no extra cost to you. The Kit links are not affiliate links. Occono does not earn from Kit. Affiliate disclosure. Website terms.
Quick summary
Stay on the larger free list, and pay for a plan only when the percentage costs more
Best for broadcasts, and for selling a file before a monthly plan: Kit, formerly ConvertKit. The free plan is $0 for as long as the list stays under 10,000 subscribers. It includes unlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages. Commerce, including a paid newsletter, is on every plan, including Free. A sale in pounds costs 3.5% + £0.20. We do not earn from Kit.
Best when the letter is also a site, and paid subscriptions are large enough that a percentage would cost more than the plan: beehiiv. The free plan is $0, with no card, up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends. The pricing FAQ says the website, podcast, community and digital products are on every plan, and that beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscription and digital product revenue. Paid subscriptions are listed on the Lite card, not on Free. With the page set to 1,000 subscribers and yearly billing, on 22 October 2026, Lite showed $49 a month. We earn from beehiiv.
Kit’s subscription is the smaller one if you already need a paid plan at that list size. beehiiv’s 0% cut is the smaller bill only after Kit’s percentage on each sale is larger than Lite, and only while the whole list is still in a tier whose price this page could read.
| When | Named in the article |
|---|---|
| The letter is free, and the list may grow past 2,500 people | Kit |
| You want to sell a download or a paid letter before a monthly software bill | Kit |
| You want the website, podcast and community named on beehiiv’s pricing FAQ | beehiiv |
| You need a sequence, and you do not yet have sales to cover a plan | A paid plan on either: Kit Creator from $39 a month, or beehiiv Lite |
| The percentage on each sale costs more than Lite, and the whole list is still in the up-to-1,000 yearly price | beehiiv |
Both tools will send a newsletter without a monthly fee. The bill changes when the list grows, when you want a sequence, and when a reader pays you. Kit publishes plan prices in US dollars and a separate pound fee for a product sale. beehiiv’s pricing page, read the same day, shows US dollars. A UK card issuer may add a conversion charge on a dollar subscription. Neither page read for this article states a UK VAT rate on the software plan, so this article does not. Prices below are the ones the vendors published. Checked 22 October 2026.
What public reviews say
These are third-party scores, read on 22 October 2026. They are other people’s reviews. Occono has not collected them, and they will move. This article uses the www.trustpilot.com profiles. The same company names on other Trustpilot country addresses showed different review counts on the same day, so those copies are not used. Trustpilot says, on the Kit profile at kit.com, that the company has not invited customers recently, so the reviews may not be representative. The beehiiv profile text read for this article did not include that sentence, so this article does not claim it for beehiiv.
| Source | beehiiv | Kit |
|---|---|---|
| Capterra, read 22 October 2026 | 4.4 out of 5, 16 reviews, on Capterra UK. The same page lists a starting price of US$49.00 a month, and it labels a free version and a free trial. Those are Capterra’s labels. The vendor page, below, is the source for the plan. | 4.6 out of 5, 244 reviews. The page says it was last updated on 29 September 2026. The filter on that page lists 175 at 5 stars, 52 at 4, 13 at 3, 3 at 2 and 1 at 1. Customer service on the same page is 4.4 from 186 reviews. The page also shows a starting price of $33 a month. That is Capterra’s figure. Kit’s own help article, below, lists a different starting monthly price. |
| Trustpilot, www.trustpilot.com, read 22 October 2026 | 4.2 out of 5, labelled Great, 330 reviews. On the page, 68% are five-star, 6% four-star, under 1% three-star, 3% two-star and 22% one-star. The profile says beehiiv replied to 93% of negative reviews, typically within 48 hours. | 4.0 out of 5, labelled Great, 161 reviews. On the page, 59% are five-star, 15% four-star, 1% three-star, 3% two-star and 22% one-star. 140 reviews are from the last 12 months. The profile says Kit replied to 31% of negative reviews, and that a reply typically takes over a month. |
| Older Trustpilot profile | No separate legacy profile was used for this article. A cross-link on the ConvertKit profile showed beehiiv at 4.2 from 331 reviews. This article uses the dedicated profile’s 330. | The legacy ConvertKit profile is 1.9 out of 5, labelled Poor, 66 reviews. On that page, 26% are five-star, 9% four-star, 0% three-star, 14% two-star and 51% one-star. The profile says ConvertKit has not replied to negative reviews. That is a separate page from kit.com. |
| G2, read 22 October 2026 | No G2 score is listed here. The beehiiv reviews page did not return a rating. | No G2 score is listed here. The Kit reviews page did not return a rating. |
Kit’s 4.6 from 244 Capterra reviews and its 4.0 from 161 Trustpilot reviews are both kinder than the legacy ConvertKit page at 1.9 from 66. They are three different pages. Wren W.’s June 2026 Capterra review, quoted below, is a one-person course business using sequences. Dru R.’s review, the same month, is about a plan price that went up when the list grew and did not come down when the list shrank. Alexander’s December 2024 review on Capterra UK is a UK publisher who left beehiiv because readers were not getting the emails, and who names ConvertKit as the place they went back to.
“It's been the backbone of my course marketing. Once my follow-up sequences were set up they basically run themselves, which is exactly what I needed as a one-person business.”
Wren W., owner and operator in e-learning, Capterra, 20 June 2026. The same review says: “I run an online course for wedding pros and Kit handles all my lead follow-up. The visual automation builder is easy to set up - new sign-ups drop into a sequence and get nurtured without me touching anything.” Overall rating 5.0, customer service 4.0, likelihood to recommend 9 out of 10. Link to the Kit page the review was read on. Checked 22 October 2026.
“Decent product that's decaying and extractive business practices. The poor value and way plan changes get billed, automatic on the way up and manual on the way down, is why I would not recommend them and I'm moving to another platform.”
Dru R., listed as a CEO, Capterra, 17 June 2026, on the same Kit page. Overall rating 2.0. The same review says that when the list crossed a tier in January 2024 the plan upgraded the same day, and that after inactive subscribers were removed the higher price held. It says support confirmed overcharges of about $936 from June 2025 through January 2026. The $936 is the amount stated in the review. It is not a price from Kit’s help article.
“I really like how simple and intuitive Beehiiv is to use. It feels built with creators in mind, so setting up emails, editing content, and managing my list never feels overwhelming.”
Review titled “A smooth, creator-friendly platform with room to grow”, Capterra UK, 13 November 2025. Link to the beehiiv page the review was read on. The same review says some features feel limited, “especially around design and automation.” beehiiv replied on 21 January 2026 and addressed the reviewer as Inamari. The reply says automations had recently been updated.
“Overall, moving to beehiiv was a waste of time as we had to migrate to another platform after just a few months. It looked good initially, but ultimately we were better off with ConvertKit (now Kit).”
Alexander, owner in UK media production, self-employed, Capterra UK, 3 December 2024, on the same beehiiv page. The review says the software was used for 1–5 months. It also says: “Beehiiv has serious deliverability issues. We had to move off the platform as readers were no longer getting our emails. Their customer service was also quite poor, as they didn't respond when we reached out for help.” The same review says the interface is well designed and that access to advertisers made it easier to build a business on the platform.
“I enjoy the fact that I can sell my products on the website, as well as make monthly newsletters that are available online as well.”
Crystal, freelance writer in the US, Capterra UK, 30 June 2026, on the same beehiiv page. The review is titled “Try Beehiiv for Developing Newsletters”. The same review says the product was still hard to figure out when making the monthly newsletters.
What you actually get
Checked 22 October 2026 on beehiiv’s pricing page and on Kit’s help articles. kit.com/pricing returned a browser check, not the price cards, so this article does not quote a figure from that URL. Where beehiiv’s own page disagrees with itself, the cell says so. Plan prices are US dollars, as those pages show them. Kit’s product fee is also given in pounds, from Kit’s own currency table.
| beehiiv | Kit | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | $0. The visible FAQ says Free is free forever, with no credit card. Up to 2,500 subscribers. Unlimited email sends. The line above the cards says every plan includes a newsletter, a website, a podcast, a community and digital products. The FAQ answer says the website, the podcast, the community and digital products are on every plan, and that what changes is limits, support and advanced features. The page’s offer data for Free includes newsletters, a website, a podcast, unlimited sends, the recommendation network and custom domains. It does not list paid subscriptions, digital products or a community. The Lite offer data then lists digital products and community under “Everything on Free +”, which does not match the FAQ. Read both on the day you start. | $0 a month for as long as the list stays under 10,000 subscribers, on the free-plan help article. Included there: up to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited forms and landing pages, unlimited email broadcasts, tagging and segmentation, digital products and subscriptions, A/B testing on broadcasts, free and Smart Recommendations, and API access. The same article says visual automations, the automation template library, email sequences, rules, RSS campaigns, AI connectors, paid apps, and earning from Paid Recommendations need a paid plan. You can open the automation and sequence pages. Creating one shows the upgrade options. The article’s structured date is 23 September 2026. The page said “Updated over a month ago” when it was read. |
| Trial | The FAQ says Lite and Pro include a free trial so you can use paid features before you subscribe. No credit card is needed to get started. The trial ends when you upgrade. The page does not say how many days that trial lasts, so this article does not. | 14 days on Creator and on Pro, with no card required, on the plan-comparison help article. The free plan is the way to keep using Kit after that without paying. That article’s structured date is also 23 September 2026. |
| Entry paid price | The visible cards, with “Pricing for 1,000 subscribers” and yearly billing selected, showed Lite at $49 a month and Pro at $95 a month. The offer data on the same URL lists Lite at $59 and Pro at $109, per month. The FAQ says paid plans start at $59 a month, and that yearly billing saves up to 20% against paying month to month. $49 is about 17% under $59, and $95 is about 13% under $109. “Up to 20%” is the page’s own ceiling. It is not the gap at this 1,000-subscriber setting. Twelve times $49 is $588, and twelve times $59 is $708. Those yearly totals are this article’s arithmetic. The cards did not print them. | Creator starts at $39 a month for up to 1,000 subscribers. Pro starts at $79 a month for the same tier. Annual billing is described as 2 months free on both. The help article says the price scales with the subscriber count and that the exact tier price is on the pricing page. That pricing page did not load on 22 October 2026, so no yearly dollar total is quoted from it. Two months free on $39 is 10 times $39, which is $390 for the year. Two months free on $79 is 10 times $79, which is $790. $390 spread over 12 months is $32.50 a month. Those three figures are this article’s arithmetic from “2 months free”. The help article does not print them. Capterra’s $33, above, is a third figure, from Capterra. |
| Subscribers on the published plans | Free, up to 2,500. Lite, up to 100,000. Pro, up to 250,000. Enterprise is custom. The FAQ says a subscriber is a unique email address subscribed to the publication. Prices for list sizes other than the 1,000-subscriber cards were not in the page HTML this article could read, so no other Lite or Pro dollar price is given here. | Free stops at 10,000. Past that, the free-plan article says you need a paid plan to keep sending. What you have built stays, and automations and sequences unlock when you upgrade. Creator and Pro prices above 1,000 subscribers are not stated in the help article this article used. |
| Sends | Unlimited on every plan, including Free. The FAQ says you are not charged extra for sending more often, or for emailing the whole list. | Unlimited email broadcasts on Free, in the free-plan article. The paid-plan article lists unlimited broadcasts and email sequences on Creator and on Pro. |
| Paid newsletter and the cut | The Lite card lists paid subscriptions and a 0% take rate as additions on Lite. The FAQ says beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscription revenue and 0% of digital product revenue. You keep what you earn, minus the Stripe fee the page quotes: 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction. That is the figure on beehiiv’s page. It is not a UK card rate, and the page does not publish one. | Digital products and subscriptions are on the free plan, so a paid letter can sit there. Selling in US dollars costs 3.5% + $0.30 per transaction. Selling in pounds costs 3.5% + £0.20. The commerce article says that percentage plus the fixed fee is the only cost of selling through Kit, that there is no monthly commerce fee, and that you pay it when you make a sale. Kit collects VAT only. The article says that is not tax advice. The United Kingdom is on the list of countries Kit says you can sell from. |
| Automations and sequences | The Lite card lists automations. The Free card does not. The offer data lists email automations on Lite. This article does not state a count of automations, because the comparison rows in the HTML it could read did not include one. | Visual automations and email sequences are on Creator and Pro, not on Free, in the free-plan article. The paid-plan article marks visual automations, automation rules and link triggers as included on both Creator and Pro. |
| Website and pages | A website is on every plan, on the FAQ and on the line above the cards. The Free offer data also lists a link-in-bio page and an AI website builder. The comparison table in the HTML this article could read did not include a custom-page count, so no page limit is stated here. | Unlimited forms and landing pages on Free. The help articles read for this article do not describe a separate website builder. They do describe landing pages, forms, and a product you can share from a broadcast, a form, a landing page, or a link. |
| Recommendations | The recommendation network is on the Free card and in the Free offer data. The Lite offer data also lists “Recommendations” under the paid additions. The visible Free card is the line this article uses for the free plan. | You are enrolled in the Creator Network when you sign up. The free-plan article says you get five Smart Recommendation slots, and that paid plans get priority and a larger share. Earning from Paid Recommendations needs a paid plan. Recommendations can be turned off. |
| Branding and a custom domain | Removing beehiiv branding is marked no on Free and on Lite, and yes on Pro and Enterprise, in the plan-limits table. The Pro card lists it. Custom domains are named in the Free offer data. They are not named on the visible Free card. This article does not treat the free-plan custom domain as settled. | Removing the “Built with Kit” branding is marked yes on Creator and on Pro. The commerce article says the badge can be removed on a paid plan, and that it stays on the free plan. A custom domain is marked yes on Creator and on Pro. The free-plan article does not mention a custom domain, so this article does not claim one there. |
| Support, as listed | The Lite offer data lists human support. The Pro card lists 24/7 priority support. Enterprise lists a customer success manager. The Free offer data does not list human support. Those are the page’s labels, not response times this article has measured. | The free-plan article says support is on every plan, including Free, and that free-plan requests are answered in the order they are received within 24 hours. That 24 hours is Kit’s claim. The paid-plan article does not restate a response time. Creator includes 2 team members. Pro includes unlimited team members, on that comparison. |
beehiiv prices, the 1,000-subscriber cards, the plan-limits table, and the FAQ: beehiiv.com/pricing. Checked 22 October 2026. The visible yearly cards showed Lite at $49 a month and Pro at $95 a month. The offer data on that URL lists Free at $0, Lite at $59 and Pro at $109. The FAQ text says the free plan never requires a card, caps it at 2,500 subscribers, and says paid plans start at $59 a month.
Kit free-plan limits: The Kit Free plan. Creator and Pro starting prices, the 14-day trial, and the feature table: Creator plan vs Creator Pro plan. The page title on that URL is “Creator vs Pro: choose the right plan”. Both articles carry a structured date of 23 September 2026. Commerce fee and the UK selling country: Sell digital products with Kit, structured date 3 September 2026. Pound fee: Sell your products in different currencies, structured date 11 June 2026. The GBP row in that table is 3.5% + £0.20. Checked 22 October 2026. kit.com/pricing returned a browser check on that date, so it is linked here and not quoted.
The offer
beehiiv. Free plan: $0, no card, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends. Lite and Pro have a free trial with no card. The page does not say how many days it lasts. The trial ends when you upgrade. With 1,000 subscribers and yearly billing selected, Lite showed $49 a month and Pro showed $95 a month. The offer data lists the monthly prices as $59 and $109. Enterprise is custom. The platform cut on paid subscriptions and on digital products is stated as 0%. The Stripe figure on the page is 2.9% + $0.30. The ad cards say “Avg. $39/mo”. That is beehiiv’s label, not a sum this page has checked, and the page does not say the ad network is available in the UK, so this article does not.
Kit. Free plan: $0 under 10,000 subscribers, unlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages, and commerce. No separate paid-plan trial length is needed to describe the free plan. Creator and Pro each have a 14-day trial with no card. Creator starts at $39 a month and Pro at $79 a month, for up to 1,000 subscribers. Annual billing is 2 months free. A product sale is 3.5% + $0.30 in US dollars, or 3.5% + £0.20 in pounds. The commerce article says you set up a Kit-managed Stripe account even if you already have a Stripe account, and that payouts go out weekly, on Fridays. The first payout is described as 7–14 days after the first successful sale.
A worked example, Occono’s own arithmetic. It uses the dollar prices above. It ignores tax and any currency-conversion charge a UK card issuer adds. One hundred payments of $10 is $1,000. Kit’s stated fee is 3.5% + $0.30 on each payment: 3.5% of $1,000 is $35, and 100 times $0.30 is $30, so the fee is $65. The plan is $0 if the whole list is under 10,000. beehiiv’s stated platform cut of that $1,000 is $0, and Lite at the up-to-1,000 yearly card is $49. beehiiv’s page also quotes Stripe at 2.9% + $0.30. On these 100 payments that quote is $29 plus $30, which is $59. The plan plus that Stripe quote is $108. Kit’s $65 is the smaller bill in this example, if the 3.5% + $0.30 is the whole cost of the sale, which is what Kit’s commerce article says.
The same arithmetic meets when the gap covers the plan. Kit’s fee on a $10 payment is $0.65. The Stripe figure beehiiv quotes on a $10 payment is $0.59. The difference is $0.06. $49 divided by $0.06 is about 817. At 816 payments of $10, which is $8,160, the two bills are within a few cents. Under that, Kit’s percentage is the smaller bill. Over that, Lite plus the quoted Stripe figure is smaller. This only holds while every subscriber, paying or not, is still inside the up-to-1,000 yearly price of $49. 816 paying subscribers already use most of that bucket. This article does not have a verified Lite price above 1,000 subscribers.
A pound example, still this article’s arithmetic, for someone who is not converting currencies. Forty payments of £10 is £400. Kit’s pound fee is 3.5% + £0.20: 3.5% of £400 is £14, and 40 times £0.20 is £8, so the fee is £22. That sale can sit on Kit’s free plan. beehiiv Lite is priced in dollars. This article does not turn $49 into pounds.
Which one fits you?
Wren W.’s June 2026 review is a one-person course business that wanted the sequence to run after the form. Dru R.’s review, the same month, is the bill that rose with the list and stayed up. Alexander’s December 2024 review is a UK media business that left beehiiv because the emails were not arriving, and that went back to Kit. Crystal’s June 2026 review is a writer who wanted the letter and the product on one site, and who still found the editor slow. Those four are closer to a one-person publisher than a software-buyer average is.
A tutor, bookkeeper or shop sending one letter a month to people who already buy. You are not charging for the letter. Both free plans cover the send. Kit’s cap is 10,000 subscribers. beehiiv’s is 2,500. A local list will not hit 2,500 quickly, and it will not hit 10,000 quickly either. Kit is the one with more room if the list is already a few thousand. Neither takes a cut if nobody is paying for the newsletter. If the letter should also add the enquiry to a sheet you already keep, Make can connect the form to the sheet. That is a second product, and a second bill once you leave Make’s free plan. Kit’s free plan will host the form and a broadcast. The sequence that chases the enquiry is not on that free plan.
A creator selling a short download, or a paid letter, to a list that is still small. Kit’s commerce article puts the product on every plan, including Free, and states the pound fee as 3.5% + £0.20. Forty sales at £10 cost £22 on that table, and the software plan is still $0 while the list is under 10,000. beehiiv’s FAQ says digital products are on every plan and that the platform cut is 0%, then the offer data lists digital products on Lite’s additions. Paid subscriptions are on the Lite card. Until those two beehiiv lines agree, Kit is the page that clearly lets you take the payment before a monthly plan. Crystal’s review is the case for beehiiv once you want the file and the letter on the site the FAQ describes. You still pay the Stripe figure beehiiv quotes, which is a US-style 2.9% + $0.30, not a UK rate.
A coach who needs one follow-up sequence, not only a broadcast. Kit’s free plan does not include the sequence. Creator starts at $39 a month even if you have a few hundred subscribers, because the published entry price is the up-to-1,000 tier. Wren W.’s review is that plan doing the job: new sign-ups drop into a sequence. beehiiv lists automations on Lite, which showed $49 a month on yearly billing at 1,000 subscribers, or $59 in the monthly offer data. $39 against $59 is Kit, if the only gap is the sequence and you are paying month to month. $390 against $588, on the yearly arithmetic above, is still Kit. Pay beehiiv for the sequence if you also want the website, the podcast and the 0% cut the FAQ describes, and if the sales arithmetic further up has already crossed. If the sequence is attached to a sales page and a course, a newsletter tool is the wrong stack. The Kit and Systeme.io comparison is that page, and Systeme.io is the all-in-one this site uses for a page, email and a course.
Someone moving a list that already exists. Export it before you cancel anything. Dru R.’s review is a Kit customer who says the higher tier stayed in place after the list was cut, and who names about $936. That figure is the reviewer’s. It is a reason to read the current tier on the day the list changes, and to keep the export. Alexander’s review is the other move: a UK publisher who left beehiiv over deliverability and support, and who says they were better off back on Kit. The November 2025 Capterra review is the opposite experience, a person who found the editor simple and the automations limited. beehiiv’s Trustpilot score of 4.2 from 330 reviews, and Kit’s 4.0 from 161, are both labelled Great. The legacy ConvertKit page at 1.9 from 66 is the one to read beside kit.com, because a search for the old name still lands there. If being found inside another company’s reading app is the point of the move, the beehiiv and Substack comparison is that page. This one is the bill for sending, and for selling next to the letter.
Where Kit is the better buy
Kit wins when the list is the job and the monthly plan is the thing you are trying to avoid. Free publishing up to 10,000 subscribers is a wider free plan than beehiiv’s 2,500. Unlimited broadcasts, forms and landing pages are on that free plan. So is a product, with a published pound fee of 3.5% + £0.20 and a US dollar fee of 3.5% + $0.30. The commerce article says that is the only cost of the sale. On the dollar example above, that fee stays under beehiiv Lite plus beehiiv’s own Stripe quote until roughly 816 payments of $10 in a month, and those 816 people already crowd the 1,000-subscriber price this article could read. Creator at $39 a month is also the smaller subscription if you need sequences at that tier. Capterra’s 4.6 from 244 reviews, and Wren W.’s June 2026 review, are the public case that the sequence tool is what a one-person course business came for. Dru R.’s review is the reason to watch the tier when the list grows and when you delete inactive people. The Trustpilot score of 4.0 from 161 reviews sits next to a warning that Kit has not invited customers recently, and next to a legacy profile at 1.9 from 66. Read both. The kit.com profile says 140 of the 161 reviews are from the last 12 months, and that replies to negative reviews typically take over a month.
beehiiv wins when the newsletter is a small site, and when the money from readers is large enough that Kit’s percentage would cost more than Lite. The free plan is a real account: 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends, no card, and a recommendation network on the Free card. The pricing FAQ says the website, the podcast, the community and digital products are included on every plan. The offer data lists custom domains on Free and then lists digital products on Lite. Those lines were both on beehiiv.com/pricing on 22 October 2026. Paid subscriptions and the 0% take rate are on the Lite card. Lite at $49 a month on yearly billing, for up to 1,000 subscribers, is the first price this article could read for that plan. The monthly offer price is $59. You still pay Stripe at the rate beehiiv prints, which is not a UK rate. Removing the beehiiv branding waits until Pro, at $95 a month on that same yearly card, or $109 in the offer data. The free trial of Lite and Pro does not have a published length. Capterra UK’s 4.4 from 16 reviews is a small count. Trustpilot’s 4.2 from 330 reviews is the larger public score, with a 22% one-star share and a reply rate the profile puts at 93% of negative reviews, typically within 48 hours. Alexander’s review is the deliverability warning from a UK publisher. Crystal’s review is the reason the site-and-product case is not only a feature list.
Use one list. Two newsletters means two places a reader can be subscribed, and a person who leaves one of them is still on the other.
By subscribing you agree to receive Occono emails. You can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy notice.
Update details
- — Published.