← All guides

Which Mailchimp alternative lets a UK small business send more before it pays?

Affiliate note: Occono may earn a commission if you use the Systeme.io, beehiiv or Make links on this page, at no extra cost to you. The Mailchimp, Kit, MailerLite and Brevo links are not affiliate links. Occono does not earn from those four. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick summary

No single alternative wins every job

Best for a letter you already send, once the list is past a few hundred people: beehiiv if the letter is the product, or Kit if you want the widest free list. beehiiv’s free plan holds up to 2,500 subscribers and unlimited sends. Kit’s free plan holds up to 10,000 subscribers and unlimited broadcasts. We earn from beehiiv. We do not earn from Kit.

Best for a page, a checkout and one follow-up in the same login: Systeme.io. The free plan includes 2,000 contacts, three sales funnels, one course and one automation rule, and the pricing FAQ states 0% transaction fees. Prices on that page are in US dollars.

Best if you are happy to pay a small monthly bill in pounds: Brevo. Its pricing page lists Marketing Starter at £6 a month. We do not earn from Brevo.

Stay on Mailchimp if the list is still inside the free plan: up to 250 contacts, and up to 500 sends a month. Also stay if the journeys and the shop connection are already built, and the move would cost more than the subscription.

Where this article names a winner
WhenNamed in the article
A letter you already send, once the list is past a few hundred peoplebeehiiv if the letter is the product, or Kit for the widest free list
A page, a checkout and one follow-up in the same loginSysteme.io
You are happy to pay a small monthly bill in poundsBrevo
The list is still inside Mailchimp’s free plan, or the journeys and shop connection are already builtStay on Mailchimp

Mailchimp’s free plan is the part that pushes a UK sole trader to look elsewhere. It stops at 250 contacts. A list of past customers often crosses that before the business feels big. The alternatives below are the ones that either hold more people for £0, or start at a smaller paid bill. Prices are in the currency each vendor publishes. Checked 20 October 2026.

What public reviews say

These are third-party scores, read on 20 October 2026. They are other people’s reviews. Occono has not collected them, and they will move. Trustpilot says, on the Systeme.io, beehiiv, Kit and MailerLite profiles, that the company has not invited customers recently, so the reviews may not be representative. Mailchimp and Brevo do invite customers, on the wording of those two profiles.

SourceMailchimpSysteme.iobeehiivKitMailerLiteBrevo
Trustpilot, read 20 October 2026 2.5 out of 5, labelled Poor, 1,547 reviews. On the page, 20% are five-star and 66% are one-star. 316 reviews are from the last 12 months. 4.9 out of 5, labelled Excellent, 8,674 reviews. On the page, 94% are five-star and 2% are one-star. 1,857 reviews are from the last 12 months. 3.9 out of 5, labelled Great, 413 reviews. On the page, 66% are five-star and 23% are one-star. 206 reviews are from the last 12 months. 4.0 out of 5, labelled Great, 161 reviews. On the page, 59% are five-star and 22% are one-star. 140 reviews are from the last 12 months. A separate ConvertKit profile showed 1.9 from 67 reviews in the “people also looked at” list on the Kit page. 4.1 out of 5, labelled Great, 3,386 reviews. On the page, 80% are five-star and 15% are one-star. 811 reviews are from the last 12 months. 3.9 out of 5, labelled Great, 7,245 reviews. On the page, 76% are five-star and 13% are one-star. 725 reviews are from the last 12 months.
Capterra, read 20 October 2026 No Capterra product score is listed here. A Mailchimp product URL returned a different product, and another returned a 404. 4.8 out of 5, 2,131 reviews. The page says it was last updated on 29 September 2026. 4.4 out of 5 on Capterra UK, 16 reviews. The page lists 10 at 5 stars, 3 at 4, 2 at 3, and 1 at 2. 4.6 out of 5, 244 reviews. The page says it was last updated on 29 September 2026. No Capterra score is listed here. No Capterra score is listed here.

G2 is not in this table. Those review pages were not used for a score on 20 October 2026.

Mailchimp’s 2.5 is a harsh score on a profile that does invite reviews. Trustpilot’s own summary of 292 recent reviews says most reviewers were unhappy, that technical errors were frequent, that support was hard to reach, and that billing complaints included unexpected charges, renewals after a pause, and a difficult cancellation. The same summary says some reviewers praised the templates and found it easy for a beginner. Systeme.io’s 4.9 sits next to Trustpilot’s notice that the company has not invited customers recently. Trustpilot’s summary of 768 reviews on that profile praises support and migration, and says some beginners found the setup slow to learn. beehiiv’s 3.9 and Brevo’s 3.9 are the middle of this set. beehiiv’s one-star share is 23%. Kit’s complaint, in the review quoted below, is the price once a one-person business needs the paid plan.

“I think Kit is a great platform with so much I build use … I hope to find more time to learn how to do stuff! I agree that the customer service is great. I only have them 4 out of 5 stars though because the price is too high for the gdp of my independent business.”

Julie Kinscheck, Trustpilot, 16 October 2026, on the Kit profile. Checked 20 October 2026.

“I have been incredibly impressed by Systeme.io, both as a platform and by the level of customer support I have received. I recently needed help with a technical domain authentication issue following changes to my website. The support team responded extraordinarily quickly, explained exactly what had happened in clear language, and then answered my follow-up question within minutes.”

Amanda B, in Great Britain, Trustpilot, 15 October 2026, on the Systeme.io profile. The same review says every support contact had been responsive. Checked 20 October 2026.

What you actually get

Checked 20 October 2026 on the vendors’ pricing pages and help articles. Where a page disagrees with itself, the cell says so. A blank is something this check did not verify, not a claim that the feature is missing.

MailchimpSysteme.iobeehiivKitMailerLiteBrevo
Free plan, audience Up to 250 contacts. 1 audience. 1 seat. $0. Up to 2,000 contacts. $0. No card. The free plan does not expire. USD. Up to 2,500 subscribers. 1 publication. $0. No card. It does not expire. Up to 10,000 subscribers. $0. Up to 250 subscribers. 2 user seats. $0. A contact cap was not on the pages checked. Sending, below, is the limit the pricing FAQ states.
Free plan, sending Up to 500 sends a month, and 250 a day. The help article and the pricing-page tooltip agree. A separate template string on the pricing page still says 1,000 sends. This article uses 500. Unlimited emails. One email campaign on the free plan. Unlimited email sends, including on Free. Unlimited email broadcasts. Tagging and segmentation included. 2,500 emails a month. One send to one subscriber counts as one email. Up to 300 emails a day, after Brevo approves the account for sending. No card to sign up.
Free plan, automation Marketing automation flows are not included. Scheduling is not included. One automation rule. The Lite card lists automations as something added on Lite, not on Free. Visual automations and email sequences are on Creator, not on Free. Automations are on the free plan. The card does not state how many. Not stated on the pages used for this article.
Pages and selling The help article says you can try landing pages and forms. Removing Mailchimp branding is not on Free. Three sales funnels, one blog, one course, one custom domain, one affiliate programme, and up to 500 students. The pricing FAQ states 0% transaction fees. A website is on Free. Paid subscriptions are listed on Lite, with a 0% cut of that revenue. The pricing FAQ says digital products are on every plan. The Lite plan description also lists digital products as something added on Lite. Unlimited landing pages and forms. You can sell a digital product or a subscription. The pricing table shows 3.5% + 30¢ on Free, Creator and Pro. The heading says that figure includes card processing, and that Kit’s own cut is 0.6%. A landing page, signup forms, and one digital product or booking are on the free card. The pricing FAQ says transactional email, including SMTP, is on all plans. A shop or a course area was not part of this check.
First paid plan Essentials starts at $13 a month. The help article says that starting price includes up to 500 contacts, and the send limit is 10 times the contact limit. Standard starts at $20 a month, and its base price includes 500 contacts. Premium starts at $350 a month, and its base price includes 10,000 contacts. A 15% line labelled for 10,000+ contacts showed $11.05, $17 and $297.50 a month for 12 months on those three plans. That is not the price for a few hundred contacts. Startup, $17 a month: 5,000 contacts, 10 sales funnels, 5 courses. The plan description also says 10 automation rules. Yearly billing is badged “2 months free”. With 1,000 subscribers and yearly billing selected, Lite showed $49 a month and Pro showed $95 a month. The page data lists the monthly prices as $59 and $109. The FAQ says paid plans start at $59 a month. With yearly billing selected, Creator showed $33 a month, $390 billed for the year, for 1,000 subscribers, and “Save $78 per year”. Sequences and visual automations start there. Comfort starts at $12 a month, in the FAQ. The pricing script’s first tier, 500 subscribers, is $12 a month in USD or €11 a month in EUR. Yearly billing is labelled “Save 10%”, and that tier’s yearly figure is $10.80 or €9.90 a month. Marketing Starter is £6 a month in GBP, or £65 for the year. The first email tier, 1 to 5,000 emails, is listed at £0 and has a contact limit of 500. Standard is £13 a month, or £140 for the year.

Mailchimp: mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing and About Mailchimp pricing plans. The pricing page says non-USD prices are estimates from exchange rates, and that the USD figures are the base prices. Taxes are extra. The free trial of Standard or Essentials is 14 days, and the footnote says payment details are required. Checked 20 October 2026.

Systeme.io: systeme.io/pricing. Plan prices in the page data are USD. The page’s own date modified is 9 October 2026. The same figures were on the page on 20 October 2026. Webinar is $47 a month: 10,000 contacts, 50 funnels, 20 courses, plus evergreen webinars. Unlimited is $97 a month: unlimited contacts, funnels, courses and automation rules.

beehiiv: beehiiv.com/pricing. Prices are USD. The FAQ says yearly billing saves up to 20%. At the 1,000-subscriber tier the yearly cards were $49 and $95, against monthly figures of $59 and $109, which is not a 20% gap, so “up to 20%” is the page’s ceiling. Stripe is quoted at 2.9% + $0.30. That is the figure on beehiiv’s page, not a UK card fee. Lite and Pro include a free trial with no card, and the trial ends when you upgrade. The page does not say how many days, so this article does not state a length. The Free plan description in the page data includes custom domains. The comparison table in the HTML fetched on 20 October 2026 did not include a separate custom-domain row.

Kit: kit.com/pricing, with yearly billing selected (“Pay yearly—save 17%”). Creator and Pro each offer a 14-day trial with no card. Pro showed $66 and $50 a month, and $593 billed for the first year, with an extra 25% off the first year. The page says that discount applies only to the first year, then the plan renews at the standard rate. The standard monthly Pro price was not printed on the card while that offer was showing, so it is not stated here. Checked 20 October 2026.

MailerLite: mailerlite.com/pricing. The FAQ names Free, Comfort, Power and Enterprise. Comfort’s send limit is 10 times the top of the subscriber tier. At the up-to-1,000 tier that is 10,000 emails a month. Power includes unlimited monthly emails, subject to a fair-use policy, and the first tier in the pricing script is $25 a month in USD or €19 in EUR. New accounts get 14 days to try premium features, with no card. The page says prices may be subject to tax. Checked 20 October 2026.

Brevo: brevo.com/pricing, with pounds selected and monthly billing selected, checked 20 October 2026. Starter is £6 a month. Standard is £13 a month. Professional is £429 a month. The page also offers yearly billing, badged as 10% off.

The offer

Mailchimp. Free: $0, up to 250 contacts, 500 sends a month, 250 a day, one audience, one seat. Essentials and Standard have a 14-day trial, and the pricing footnote says you give payment details at signup. Essentials starts at $13 a month. Standard starts at $20 a month. Premium starts at $350 a month. The 15% saving on the cards is labelled for 10,000 or more contacts. There is also a pay-as-you-go option for people who send rarely. This check did not take a credit price off that page, so none is quoted.

Mailchimp pricing cards, including a free plan for under 250 contacts, Standard from $20 a month, and Premium showing $297.50 a month for 12 months.
Mailchimp’s pricing page, captured 20 October 2026. Prices change; check the current page.

Systeme.io. Free: $0, no card, and it does not expire. The published limits are 2,000 contacts, three funnels, one course, one blog, one affiliate programme, one custom domain, unlimited emails, one automation rule, one email campaign, and 500 students. Startup is $17 a month. Webinar is $47 a month. Unlimited is $97 a month. The yearly-billing control is badged “2 months free”. The pricing FAQ states a 0% transaction fee. No separate length for a paid-plan trial was on that FAQ.

Systeme.io pricing answers: Free includes 2,000 contacts, three sales funnels and one course. Startup is $17 a month, Webinar is $47 a month and Unlimited is $97 a month.
Systeme.io’s pricing page, captured 20 October 2026. Prices change; check the current page.

beehiiv. Free: $0, no card, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends. Paid subscriptions, the 0% take rate, and automations are on Lite, not on Free. With the page set to 1,000 subscribers and yearly billing, Lite showed $49 a month and Pro showed $95 a month. The pricing data lists monthly prices of $59 and $109. You still pay Stripe. The free trial of Lite and Pro has no published length.

Kit. Free: $0, up to 10,000 subscribers, unlimited forms, landing pages and broadcasts. Sequences and visual automations start on Creator. With yearly billing selected, Creator showed $33 a month, $390 for the year, for up to 1,000 subscribers. The card says that saves $78 a year. Creator and Pro have a 14-day trial with no card. Selling through Kit shows as 3.5% + 30¢ on the pricing table, which the page says includes card processing.

MailerLite. Free: $0, up to 250 subscribers, 2,500 emails a month, two seats, with automations, a landing page and a form. Comfort starts at $12 a month on the FAQ, which matches the 500-subscriber tier in USD. That same tier is €11 a month in the EUR column. The 14-day trial covers premium features and does not require a card. After it ends, the FAQ says your subscribers and drafts stay, and the premium features stop unless you upgrade.

MailerLite pricing cards with a yearly discount: Comfort shown at $12 and $10.80 a month, and Power shown at $25 and $22.50 a month, for 500 subscribers.
MailerLite’s pricing page, captured 20 October 2026. Prices change; check the current page.

Brevo. Free: no card, then up to 300 emails a day once sending is approved. Starter is £6 a month, or £65 for the year. At that plan the first 5,000 emails a month are listed at £0, with a contact limit of 500 on that tier. Standard is £13 a month, or £140 for the year, with the same £0 first email tier. A UK business that only wants the price in pounds, and already knows it will pay, is the reader this row is for.

Brevo pricing cards in pounds, on monthly billing: Starter at £6 a month, Standard at £13 a month, and Professional at £429 a month.
Brevo’s pricing page, in pounds with monthly billing selected, captured 20 October 2026. Prices change; check the current page.

Which one fits you?

Julie Kinscheck’s October 2026 review is the Kit complaint in plain language: the paid plan feels steep for a one-person business. Amanda B’s review, from Great Britain the day before, is the Systeme.io side: support that answers a domain problem in clear language. Trustpilot’s Mailchimp summary is the other warning: billing and support, on a profile that invites reviews and still sits at 2.5.

A sole trader with about 300 customers. Mailchimp’s free plan does not hold them. The cap is 250 contacts. Essentials starts at $13 a month, and the help article says that starting price includes up to 500 contacts. MailerLite’s free plan is also 250 subscribers, so 300 people lands on Comfort, at $12 a month in USD or €11 in EUR on the first published tier. Kit’s free plan holds the 300 for broadcasts, and the sequence waits until Creator. Systeme.io’s free plan holds them, with one automation rule, inside 2,000 contacts. beehiiv’s free plan holds them as a newsletter, up to 2,500, and the automated sequence is on Lite. If the job is one letter a month, Kit or beehiiv is the free-plan fit. If the job is one chase email after an enquiry, Systeme.io’s free plan is the one that includes the rule. MailerLite includes automations on Free, and then stops you at 250 people.

A local shop with a Shopify or Etsy list. You want the customers you already have, not a second checkout. If the list is under 250 and you already send from Mailchimp, stay. The move is a chore, and Essentials at $13 is close to MailerLite Comfort at $12, so the saving is small. If the list is already past 250 and the letter is all you send, Kit’s free plan runs to 10,000 subscribers and beehiiv’s to 2,500. Neither is a till. If a new order should also land on a sheet, Make can connect the shop to the email tool. That is a second product. The Make and Zapier comparison on this site is the page for that bill.

A coach selling a short course. Systeme.io’s free plan includes one course and a checkout, and the pricing FAQ states no platform transaction fee. Kit can sell a digital file on the free plan, at the 3.5% + 30¢ on the pricing table. beehiiv’s pricing FAQ says digital products are on every plan, and the Lite plan description lists them again as something added on Lite, so do not treat a free-plan product as settled. If the thing you sell is the course, Systeme.io is the smaller stack. If the thing you sell is the weekly letter, Kit’s free plan holds far more subscribers before a monthly fee. The Kit and Systeme.io comparison goes further on that split, and the Systeme.io piece for solopreneurs stays with the all-in-one.

A newsletter writer. beehiiv is built for the letter: unlimited sends on the free plan, up to 2,500 subscribers, and paid subscriptions only once you move to Lite. Kit’s free plan is wider, at 10,000, and it is a broadcaster until you pay for sequences. Mailchimp’s free plan is the wrong shape for a newsletter that might grow, because 250 contacts and 500 sends a month run out on a single mail to a modest list. Substack is the other newsletter path, and this site’s beehiiv and Substack comparison is the page for the 10% cut.

Where Mailchimp is the better buy

Stay if the list is under 250 contacts and 500 sends a month is enough. You get one audience, basic templates, and a form. You do not get scheduling, and you do not get automation flows. For a quiet list and one mail a month, that can be the whole job, at $0, in a tool a customer may already recognise. The 14-day trial of Essentials or Standard is there if you want to see the paid screen, and the footnote says Mailchimp takes payment details before it starts.

Stay if the journeys, the segments and a shop connection are already running, and rebuilding them is the real cost. Essentials starts at $13 a month for a starting tier the help article describes as up to 500 contacts. Standard starts at $20. Those are US dollars. Mailchimp says a price in another currency is an estimate, and the amount charged depends on the exchange rate, with tax on top. Switching to save a few dollars, and then spending a week rebuilding one automation, is a bad trade. The Trustpilot score of 2.5 from 1,547 reviews is the reason to export the list anyway, and to read a renewal before you let a trial roll on.

Leave the free plan when the list passes 250, or when one mail to the whole list would break the 500-send cap. Kit and beehiiv hold a normal local list without a monthly fee. Systeme.io holds it and adds a page and a checkout. Brevo is the one that publishes a starter price in pounds, at £6 a month, once you have decided to pay. MailerLite is the middle: automations before you pay, then a wall at 250 subscribers.

Pick one list. Two tools means two places a customer can be subscribed, and an unsubscribe in one of them does not clear the other.

Try Systeme.io free → Try beehiiv free →

By subscribing you agree to receive Occono emails. You can unsubscribe at any time. See our privacy notice.

Update details

  • — Published. Canonical URL and article sidebar added the same day, and this update note added.
  • — Screenshots of the public pages added.
  • — Prices rechecked against vendor pages, 20 October 2026.